21empiredesigns

Fashion and Interior Design… and a little more :)

5 Winter 2012 Hair Trends! November 14, 2012

Filed under: Beauty,Fashion Design and Styling,Uncategorized — 21empiredesigns @ 3:56 PM

More slow time! So happy I can actually post on my blog again, and I really do apologize for being so behind!

Anyway, I’m kind of into hair trends, and in browsing around to see what’s new this season, I found some great articles and analyses that inspired this post! So I’ve shared my version with you 🙂 Enjoy!

Trend #1 – Buns:

I have to admit, I’m a little crazy about buns. There’s so many different ways you can wear them – from Princess Leia’s cinnamon buns in the Star Wars movies (which I would suggest you NEVER EVER EVER wear unless you’re going for fashion suicide) to to Vanessa Hudgen’s laidback-gorgeous messy bun at the 2012 Peoples Choice Awards to DVF’s professional chic bun (picture below), each way is different, and expresses many different personalities (or even sides of a personality). Aside from being a chameleon, the bun is a fashion classic that never gets old, even though it’s been around for forever, and depending on the type you go for, it can be SUPER simple and easy to do! Anyway, I’m rambling, so on to the visuals!

DVF (Diane Von Furstenberg)

Louis Vuitton

Rick Owens – According to Glamour Magazine (in the UK), to make this bun, simply ” Twist your ponytail into two strands, braid them together and twist into a bun…”

Vanessa Hudgens (2012 People’s Choice Awards) – I had to include this, just because this is like my signature style! It’s so easy to do if you’re running out of time (SECRET: I literally roll out of bed and do this sometimes!)

Trend #2 – Center Part:

Funny how things keep re-appearing… I thought the center part went out of style ages ago! I’m not crazy bout this look (it’s not a universal thing that everyone can pull off), but if you can do it, go for it! I still have yet to see a center part that doesn’t look severe… So let me know if you have!

Roberto Cavalli

Gucci – I guess this could be sort of classified as not severe…. still not sure about it though…

Trend #3 – Ponytails:

Always and forever in style. I love it because it’s super easy, looks effortless, and allows accessories and clothing to take a center stage without completely making the hair disappear 🙂

Chanel

Jason Wu – This look is both kickback (Glamour Magazine brought up the point that it looks very Spice Girls, which looking at it now, I totally agree with!), and futuristic (the height of the ponytail, the no-nonsense gelled look, and the wide band keeping it in place), a pairing that I love!

Jil Sander – the low-twist ponytail is ridiculously easy to do, and very laidback.

Trend #4 – Quiffs and Bouffants:

These are always interesting! The bouffant is a style that was huge in the 60’s, and a lot of the classic classic examples of it, like Amy Winehouse’s, Bridgette Bardot’s, and of course, little miss Audrey’s, came from that period. And I just feel like the quiff has been in and out since the 1950’s, getting picked up at one time or another by celebrities like singer Rihanna, actress Marion Cotillard, fashion idol Kim Kardashian, and my personal favorite, Amy Heidemann from the band Karmin. Anyway, these are interesting styles that probably won’t be seen a lot in the general population, but for the fashion risk takers? Keep a look out!

Derek Lam

Derek Lam – I’m not entirely sure why, but this style (and the model) reminds me of a girl I met over the summer who rocks this hairstyle (except the back part is an afro) like nobody’s business…

Moschino – Oh… my… gosh…. Talk about love at first sight! WAYYYY to cute! The headscarf is an ADORABLE addition, and the graphic cateye liner, plus the dramatic red… I could totally see this look on Amy Adams for a red carpet event… Love it!

Amy Heidemann (KIIS FM Jingle Ball 2011)- Again, I can’t finish this section without including a picture of Amy! She has such a unique and fun twist to the normal quiff, I couldn’t help but to include it 😛

Trend #5 – Fearless Color:

For all of you who always looked the boxes of “Splat” color (the $7 boxed ones with the crazy colors you keep seeing at Target, Walmart, and drugstores everywhere) and decided not to try it because people would think you’d gone crazy, NOW is the time to do it! Crazy colors and bright hair dye hues are in this winter. Excuse me while I go purchase my Splash kit in bright red…. 😉

Jean Paul Gaultier

Jean Paul Gaultier

Prada

Well, that’s my post on hair trends for this winter! Hope you enjoyed it, will try some new ones, and I will probably be back with more posts this week, so stay tuned, and thanks so much for reading!!
<3Christiana<3
 

One Response to “5 Winter 2012 Hair Trends!”

  1. I think this is among the most significant info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on
    few general things, The web site style is wonderful, the
    articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers


Leave a Reply

